The Ministry for Education and Employment, in collaboration with the Ministry for Health, has issued instructions to teachers, members of staff and students who visited China, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea, Iran and the regions of Emilia Romagna, Lombardy, Piedmonte and Veneto (in the north of Italy) to stay at home for 14 days. 

Anyone developing symptoms of fever, cough or shortness of breath should phone the Disease Prevention and Control Unit (IDCU) on 21 324 086.

It is also being advised that individuals who need help or clarification should phone their family doctor (GP). In addition, it is being instructed that the general public should not to go to Health centres or Casualty or visit their private GP but they should call their GP if they notice any symptoms mentioned above.

Employees that travelled to these countries are requested to advise their line manager regarding the need to stay at home according to the stipulated days mentioned. Employees will be considered as excused on presentation of travel evidence when the individual returns back to work. It is also recommended that travellers should avoid non-essential travel to the above countries which are countries with presumed ongoing transmission of COVID-19 based on scientific evidence available provided by ECDC (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control).

The Ministry for Education and Employment said it will continue to keep schools and educational institutions adjourned with directions given from time to time by the Ministry for Health.